Low Income Relief

The township's low-income relief program is called General Assistance and provides financial support to those experiencing hardship. We also have an Emergency Assistance Program for those in more immediate need. Our team will help identify which program is right for you.

General Assistance

Emergency Assistance

Our Approach

We strive to look at your case holistically, which means that we will also be able to make recommendations and referrals to our partner agencies if they can offer additional support or assist with utility relief programs.
Our General Assistance application is now available to FILL OUT & PRINT!

How to Get Started

If you have printer access, you can fill out your application and then print, sign, and submit it. If you don't have access to a printer, please call us to have an application mailed to you.

We're just a phone call away if you need help or have questions.

Application Process

If you are in need of financial assistance, we’re here to serve you. Our caseworkers are happy to help guide you through the assistance process every step of the way.

Complete Application

Click on Application and Fill out and Print
Click on Application and Print and Fill out in pen.
Remember to SIGN application.

Submit Application

Check that your application is completely filled out and signed and you're ready to submit it by Mail or Drop Off. We have a 24-hour mail slot to the left of the front door for drop offs after business hours.

DeKalb Township
2323 South Fourth Street
DeKalb, IL 60115

Your caseworker will call you or follow up with additional paperwork by mail.

DO NOT EMAIL your application.

For expedited processing
of your application

Fill out and Print the checklist found below and submit copies of the checklist items with your application.

Intake With Caseworker

Please call us at 815-758-8282 to do an intake during normal business hours if you're submitting your application off our website.

(Mon - Fri 8:30 am - 4:00 pm)

Frequently Asked Questions

DeKalb Township also processes applications for the following Townships through intergovernmental agreements:

Afton Township – Supervisor Randall Bourdages
Clinton Township – Supervisor Mary Ann Erickson
Cortland Township – Supervisor Danee Walker
DeKalb Township – Supervisor Mary Hess
Franklin Township – Supervisor Vincent Kilcullen
Genoa Township – Supervisor Jim Hanson
Kingston Township – Supervisor Ken Peterson
Malta Township – Supervisor Thomas H. Plote
Magnolia Township – Supervisor Megan Tarr

Mayfield Township – Supervisor Joe Totman
Pierce Township – Supervisor Dan Carson II
Sandwich Township – Supervisor Garry Miller
Shabbona Township – Supervisor James Johnson
Somonauk Township – Supervisor Norm Rogers
South Grove Township – Supervisor Barbara Koehnke
Squaw Grove Township – Supervisor George Bullard
Sycamore Township – Supervisor Amy Mathey
Victor Township – Supervisor Mary Kohler